12 May 2016

#PassTheScopeEDU - Summer Learning - #100DayProject - Day 042

Image Courtesy of Brian Smith - @BrianRSmithSr
After the success of last month's #PassTheScopeEDU, we've decided it needs to become a regular learning event and will be holding it each month on the 3rd Thursday. So that means the next #PassTheScopeEDU event will be on Thursday, May 19th, so mark it on your calendars now! One of the best things to come out of the first event was that we will have a lot more teachers taking part this month and I'm sure that trend will only continue as we go forward.

But what is it and how do I take part? #PassTheScopeEDU is an event where educators use Periscope to create a live broadcast (called a Scope) and share their thoughts. Each person participating will be using their own Periscope account and those of us following along will use Periscope to follow and watch their scope wherever we want, making #PassTheScopeEDU a truly personalized PD opportunity.

For our #PassTheScopeEDU event, we're gonna keep each scope live stream to about 5-10 minutes. When the first person finishes their scope they will tell you who is next up and what their Periscope user information is so you can go watch the next part. This continues until the last person finishes and the event ends. We didn't invent the idea of #PassTheScope, but we are very excited to do another one and share some great educational ideas.

If you are more of an auditory learner, check out this great episode of the Hack Learning Podcast by Mark Barnes, who is also participating in this month's edition of #PassTheScopeEDU. It's a great explanaton that is short enough you can listen just about anywhere.


Who is involved and when are the times? Often a #PassTheScope event happens all at once, back-to-back, but we are going to do it a little different and have people throughout the day so feel free to jump in whenever you have time. The schedule and lineup is below:

** This list will be updating for the next couple of days until our #PassTheScopeEDU May Event!**

Thursday, May 19th

12:00pm EST / 9:00am PST:
Toutoule Ntoya
Twitter: @ToutouleNtoya
Periscope: @ToutouleNtoya 

12:15pm EST / 9:15am PST:
Deniece Frideley / Christine Grimm
Twitter: @piggyreads / @samthegecko
Periscope: @piggyreads
Website: LttlePiggyReads.blogspot.com

12:30pm EST / 9:30am PST:
Jacqueline Rose
Twitter: @JRose_Edu
Periscope: @JRose_Edu

12:45pm EST / 9:45am PST:
Kimberly LaneTwitter: @askatechnogirl
Periscope: @askatechnogirl
Website: AskaTechnoGirl.com

1:30pm EST / 10:30am PST:
Brian Smith
Twitter: @1to1brian
Periscope: @1to1brian

2:45pm EST / 11:45am PST:
Mark Barnes
Twitter: @markbarnes19
Periscope: @markbarnes19
Website: HackLearning.org

3:00pm EST / 12:00pm PST:
Jennifer Gonzalez
Twitter: @cultofpedagogy
Periscope: @cultofpedagogy
Website: CultOfPedagogy.com

4:00pm EST / 1:00pm PST:
Cynthia Day
Twitter: @msdayvt
Periscope: @msdayvt

4:30pm EST / 1:30pm PST:
Stacy Lovdahl
Twitter: @braveneutrino
Periscope: @braveneutrino

4:45pm EST / 1:45pm PST:
Sarah Thomas
Twitter: @SarahdaTeechur
Periscope: @SarahdaTeechur
Website: SarahDaTeechur.com

5:00pm EST / 2:0pm PST:
Knikole Taylor
Twitter: @Knikole
Periscope: @Knikole
Website: www.KnikoleTaylor.com

5:30pm EST / 2:30pm PST:
Tara Linney
Twitter: @TaraLinney
Periscope: @techteachert

6:00pm EST / 3:00pm PST:
Heather Campbell
Twitter: @hqcampbell4
Periscope: @seriousgiggles

6:30pm EST / 3:30pm PST:
Derek Larson ( That's ME! )
Twitter: @lars3eb
Periscope: @lars3eb
Website: EdTechBabble.net

6:45pm EST / 3:45pm PST:
Jordan Pedraza
Twitter: @RemindHQ
Periscope: @RemindHQ
Website: Blog.Remind.com

7:00pm EST / 4:00pm PST:
Cassie Reeder
Twitter: @reeder_cassie
Periscope: @reeder_cassie

7:15pm EST / 4:15pm PST:
Molly Levitt / Mary Jo Madda
Twitter: @Molly_Levitt  / @MJMadda
Periscope: @Molly_Levitt
Website: EdSurge.com

7:30pm EST / 4:30pm PST:
Valerie Lewis
Twitter: @iamVLewis
Periscope: @iamVLewis

7:45pm EST / 4:45pm PST:
Jason BretzmannTwitter: @jbretzmann
Periscope: @jbretzmann
Website: BretzmannGroup.com

8:00pm EST / 5:00pm PST:
William Jeffery
Twitter: @CoachJeffery
Periscope: @CoachJeffery

8:15pm EST / 5:15pm PST:
Shaina GlassTwitter: @SVicGlass
Periscope: @SVicGlass 
Website: ShainaVGlass.com

The following is a great YouTube video created by our very own Stacy to showcase the order of the participants as well as their home locations. I hope you enjoy it because I think it is amazing what Stacy came up with and hope we're lucky enough to have more videos like this one in the future.


Come join us for #PassTheScopeEDU and don't forget to follow each of these amazing educators on Twitter and Periscope! Also, if you follow the #PassTheScopeEDU on Twitter at @PassTheScopeEDU you'll see reminder tweets so you don't have to worry about when the next scoper is starting. And remember, if you watch, feel free to give lots of hearts because we love you!

** Updated 5/16/16 **
** This post has been updated to include some changes to the schedule. **

** Updated 5/15/16 **
** This post has been updated to include a link to the YouTube video about the event as well as to update the schedule. **

** Updated 5/12/16 **
** This post has been updated to include a link to the Hack Learning Podcast episode about the event as well as to update the schedule. **

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...